The unbagging of the Cat

Now that the cat is pretty much out of the bag at work (except for the announcement to my actual team…lolsies), I can officially announce my very exciting news (NO, IM NOT PREGNANT OKAY!): I’ve accepted a very fabulous job at a UK-based, South African founded company called Mimecast as a Senior CX Account Manager.

I am beyond stoked, firstly, to be working for such a well known company in the industry and, secondly, to be offered a position by, what I would deem is, a destination company.

Moving to another country is a damn difficult thing to do – starting your career over and learning to accept that you may have to work at a graduates salary for a little while is an internal struggle, to say the least. Finally, after two jobs (both of which I have enjoyed immensely and both of which have introduced me to some amazing people and friends), I feel like I am finally back on track and making a natural progression from the role I was in when I left South Africa.

This role is both customer facing and more technical in nature (yippeeee!) which means that I can get back to using the skills that I have developed over the years. My current company is great, but as I have fallen more into a management role and because the nature of the business is far less technical, I end up doing much less technical work and, as a result, I felt that my technical skills are totally going to waste.

The other upside to this new role is that I may very likely be spending an amount of time travelling around Europe again, which is right up my street.

This job move also means Jean and I can start thinking about the prospect of buying a house in the next few years – something I have not seriously thought of because…well…this is England and houses are bloody expensive (well, around London they are).

Anyway…thats all I had to say. Go me!

Peas!

Leave a comment