Updates and Rants

So, yesterday was the end of Daylight Savings – which to me is not normal because we arrived here in BST (British Summer Time), which means I am used to being just an hour behind South Africa….we’re now 2 hours behind and it is weird. Granted the only time is really makes any difference is either when you want to Skype someone not in the UK and realise it is now too late because it is dinner/lunch/bed time in SA, or in the mornings and evenings because its not/it is dark when you dont expect it to be. 6:30pm rolled around yesterday evening and I felt like it was time for bed….upon looking at the clock, I decided it was not (because who goes to bed at 6.30pm!?)

I was glad to discover that I’m not the only person in the UK that is perplexed by this shifting time zone thing – some of my British colleagues become as confused as I am by all of this, which is comforting to say the least.

This weekend was quite lovely and while Friday evening and Sunday were spent, largely, at home under blankets on the couch chillaxing (because I am commuting in London every day now, I appreciate down time at home so much more – commuting takes it out of you…and I guess the idea of knowing that you have to travel far everyday makes you appreciate and want to spend time at home), Saturday saw us rather busy.

Jean was supposed to mountain biking with the step Faja, but decided that they weren’t up for it, so we all met for coffee in Maidstone High Street instead – as always, we laughed ourselves silly and made a noise, as we do. I really do have a comedic family, which I am so glad for. I’d hate to have coffee with boring people. 😛

Jean and I then popped into Sainsbury to buy a few groceries, and then stopped in at the mamman to pick up some stuff (a casserole dish and curry spices, if you must know) before heading home. As soon as we got home, I proceeded to morph into super housewife and whipped up a (seriously) delicious Durban curry (okay, whip is a bit strong…it took about 3 hours to cook), (seriously) delicious Malva pudding (if you want the recipe, let me know) and clean the house up as we had Clare and Mike coming around for dinner…and I had wine to drink, so I needed to prepare.

I’m proud to report that the dinner went down well, and no one has food poisoning – which I take as a sign of a job well done (yes, my requirements for a successful evening are only that I not make my guests ill :P). I had such a lovely time with our friends and really have missed being able to have people around to entertain (yes, Mom, you guys are next, I promise).

While opening up my blog today, I glanced upon a blog post written by a South African youth about the riots that took place last week and I felt annoyed. The reason I felt annoyed is not because of the riots, but more because I am getting quite sick of how self-righteous people can be. I understand that a blog is definitely a very self righteous place – you are effectively talking about yourself and your life, which people then read, but, I guess, I am just quite tired of seeing and reading people and their self righteousness everywhere. I follow a few Banting groups on Facebook and I am just so sick of seeing people go on and on and on about how much they love the group and how amazing they are because they have lost 2 kgs. Yes, you are amazing, I wont deny it – but do you need to tell everyone how amazing you are every single day just so that people will agree with you and compliment you?

This is kind of the same feeling I had about this girl’s post to the youth of 2015 – yes, the students are amazing for what they accomplished last week and yes, they are obviously made of tough stuff to have stood up to the government and the police like that and yes, I support the movement wholeheartedly, but for heavens sake, can everyone stop with the self-righteous we-own-the-world, we-will-take-you-out-if-you-dont-support-us krap. I had some varsity fairy spend some time trying to label me as a racist with double standards last week because I noted, on a picture of a varsity leader that happened to be a woman and non-white, that it would be nice if people ruled out the race identifier completely and just celebrated the fact that it was a woman who was leading. This girl tried to imply that I was racist because I was “offended” by the fact that she was not white. Because I didn’t want to be condescending and rude, I explained nicely that part of the reason why race is such an issue in South Africa is because South Africans insist on making an issue out of it. When applying for a job in South Africa is is a requirement to state your race – I mean for heavens sake! In the UK, the only thing you state when applying for a job is your name, contact details and work history. People do not care if you are 20 or 40, if you are pink, green black or blue – if you have the experience and are the best person for the job then who cares what colour you are. This is what has made me realise that South Africans (and any other nationality which lays heavy emphasis on skin melamine levels) should just GET OVER IT.

Anyway, I have no idea if that last part made any sense, but it is my pet peeve for today.

And now I am done…and I am going to get a coffee from Nero before someone tries to interview me about working at Access (because someone is floating around the office doing that).

Peace!

Leave a comment